Headlines from China: Johnnie To Quits As Jury President of Taipei Golden Horse Awards

Johnnie To Quits As Jury President of Taipei Golden Horse Awards

Film director Johnnie To has resigned from the jury of the 56th Golden Horse Awards as jury president, according to an official announcement from Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival (TGHFF). According to TGHFF’s statement, the resignation was due to To’s contract with investors of his new film, and To was deeply sorry for the inconvenience his resignation causes. It was also mentioned that Ang Lee, chairman of the Festival’s organizing committee, understood To’s situation and wished his new film success. To’s resignation came after Beijing’s ban on Chinese movies and actors participating in Golden Horse. But TGHFF refused to comment on the possible connection between To’s resignation and Beijing’s boycott against the Festival. The Jury President position has now been taken over by Taiwanese director/art director Toon Wang, who won seven Golden Horse awards in the past. Wang will also receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from TGIFF. His film Hill of No Return won Best Picture at both Golden Horse Awards and the 1st Shanghai International Film Festival. The 56th Golden Horse Awards will announce this year’s nominations on October 1. Award ceremony will be held on November 23. Read more on The Paper

Yao Chen Named Festival Ambassador of One International Women’s Film Festival

The 3rd One International Women’s Film Festival (ONEIWFF) opened today (September 19) in Chengdu, Sichuan Province. Chinese actress Yao Chen was appointed to be this year’s ONEWIFF ambassador and today, she talked about her opinions on film festival and feminist film through an open letter. She said in the open letter that “being an ambassador of a female-centered film festival is a job that I can’t say no.” From Yao’s perspective, “Feminist films always break certain conventionalized rules and tell those buried stories with gentleness and strength.” The 3rd ONEIWFF runs from September 19 to 26. Read more on Mtime